Teenage Partygirl

Daddy’s Little Girl

 

I snatched the keys off the neck of my close friend

held them close and felt pride

when someone asked if I was driving

 

Goody goody

 

I held the wall up for support

my legs stepping across my body

Cup in hand with no residue

 

Teacher’s pet

 

My hands stained red

children’s money stuffed in my backpack pocket

My innocence going with every cup sold

 

Innocent

 

Almost sneaking out

as I’m draped over the rim of the toilet

To meet up with that one senior boy

 

Go big or go home

 

Flirting with my best friend’s

soon to be boyfriend

Holding me up while I slur my words

 

Smart Alec

 

I exhaled the smoke

blew out and attempted to make a ring

like the popular kids had done so effortlessly

 

Kiss-ass

 

I carved an apple with two holes

because I had learned from watching

to the point where I was able to do it on my own

 

Fifteen going on fifty

 

“Hold it in longer, it makes it better”

they said – so I did

I held it in as long as I could

longer than anyone else could

 

Wild child

 

Hit after hit after hit

and I got further and further and further from who I once was

“Just one more,” we said for the third time

 

Daredevil

 

Scaling the wall was nothing in comparison

to the easy walk we had down

We must’ve forgot

what goes down must come up

 

Druggie

 

The pinch of our cheeks

the frantic movement of our arms

Twisted and blurred like the reality I was living

 

Party animal

 

 

Double or nothing – what we were doing wasn’t bad enough

Get in the car with your Mom

be surrounded with people

Sneak out onto the roof of a four family home

 

Good time Charlie

 

“I thought there was still a little bit

of that goody-two-shoes left in you”

I wish, but she’s long gone

 

Teenage partygirl

Leave a Reply

