Draw, print, transfer, repeat

Crever is one of few students who can say that he built a business from scratch. His talent began in kindergarten when he first started drawing. Today, numerous shirts, designs, and his personal brand,G7, have launched Crever into the world of entrepreneurship.

“My big inspirations now are an artist named Alex Pardee and Leon Carson,” who are also modern graphic artists.

Crever‘s muse for his designs are other forms of art, such as music and movies. “I base some of my art off of real-life things,” he says. “I like to do stuff that I’ve already seen before, but alter it. I get inspiration from anything that I think looks cool,”

Crever and his partner, Junior Carlos Peralta, once had individual brands. They later made a single brand together. “[Peralta] does all the stuff I don’t want to do, like ordering shirts and doing the actual business side of things. I don’t want to do that. I just want to make cool art,” Crever says.

He first began printing his designs on T-shirts last year, doing the printing through an actual company. This year, he began doing everything in-house, which is less expensive. They were able to lower the prices of the tees from $25 to $15, with some as low as $10. “The main reason [I switched to in-house] was the price, but it is also a lot better for me to get a hands-on experience so I know what I’m actually doing,” he says.

With a sketchbook always on hand, Crever has a constant flow of new ideas for shirts and designs.

“I have 10 filled sketchbooks in my room from five years in the past. I can look at some of them when I don’t know what to do and get inspiration and make it.”

The process of in-house printing is extensive, and begins with the design being printed from the graphic design software to transfer paper. Crever has to hand cut every design. The reason for the color splotches on his designs is to make the designs easier and quicker to cut. He takes the cut design and logo upstairs to his heat press, which he turns on to 360 degrees and places the shirt on the base of the press. The rubbery layer of the transfer paper is peeled on, and placed on top of the shirt. He then lays a layer of wax paper on top the rubbery design assure the design will stay on the shirt, and not the press. The press is heated and pressed down for 25 seconds. Then, he removes the wax paper and pulls out the shirt and, voila, a graphic tee.

With only five shirts and more to come, his favorite design is the Cherry Tee. “When I put [the design] on a white shirt, the yellow in the background blends with the white tee and it looks really cool,” he says. “I put the Japanese character for cherry next to it and the character looks really cool. I think it was a really cool concept.”

Along with new shirts, the team is planning to launch a web store that will allow them to sell to people outside their tight-knit circle of Lincoln students. The pair also made appearances at Made Here, a goods store of local products. Their main publicity and sales are through friends and their Instagram @g7pdx. There may also expect possible skate decks in the near future. “My idea is a cool skate brand, and make designs for that. That’s the goal.”

“It’s nice knowing that people actually wear my shirts not because it’s me, but because they think they’re cool. I saw [someone] walking around Lincoln [who was wearing my shirt,] and I was like ‘I don’t even know who those guys are wearing my shirt’ and it feels super good because he likes it, not because he knows who I am.”

 

Crever’s Cherry Tee (top left), and some of his other designs Photo courtesy of MAX CREVER

Leave a Reply

