The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

★★★★

Pages: 335

I enjoyed this book because it was a tragedy love story, and it makes you truly rethink your life, and whether you’ve had you’ve had your “single tragic encounter after which everything that matters will happen.”

A beautiful love story about a popular boy who’s future is crushed in a car accident, who falls in love with a strange, wrecked girl. Their relationship always had me on the tips of my feet, reaching for the highest point that Ezra and Cassidy had felt. Original and creative, I felt as if I was being spoke to, and that I sat with them at their lunch table, in the park and on the swings and in the castle.

Although towards the end of the story with thirty pages left and still no resolution, I felt stressed, hectic, and rushed to finish the story and waited for a resolution I hadn’t expected or wished. I also thought it was hard to read the last thirty pages because there was a climax near the final pages, and once the book was finished, I was left waiting for more. The rest of my day revolved around the idea that the book ended, as well as Ezra, because it was one tragedy after another. It made me wonder what tragedy the book was written about or for.

Overall, I enjoyed the five day period it took me to read this story, I would recommend it to romantics and teenagers wishing for a feel good story, as well as a story with a moral: “that everyone’s life, no matter how unremarkable, has a singular tragic encounter after which everything that really matters will happen… knowing the first step will get you nowhere, – it’s what comes after that determines the result.”

Leave a Reply

